The 4Cs of Diamonds

The 4Cs has since become the standard for describing a diamond’s specific characteristics.
The combination of Cut, Colour, Clarity, and Carat denotes a diamond’s value and rarity.



D, E, F Colourless
G, H, I, J Near Colourless
K, L, M Faint Yellowish White
N, O, P, Q, R Very Light Yellow
S to Z Light Yellow

Passion Jewellers Ideal Colour Grade – G – H grades with medium to no fluorescence are a perfect choice for those who prefer colourless stones but are constrained by their budget.

This short video explains the GIA color scale and how GIA classifies a diamond with a letter grade from D-to-Z by comparing it to masterstones representing the color grades on the GIA scale.



Clarity grading is to measure the position, volume, and colour of the inclusions.  FL or IF (flawless or internally flawless) diamonds have the best clarity and are the most expensive ones. Diamonds marked I (visible inclusions) are the poorest.

Passion Jewellers Ideal Clarity Grade – If you prefer a diamond with no inclusions visible to the naked eye, then VS1 or VS2 would be an ideal clarity match for you. However, diamonds with SI1 or SI2 clarity are also a neat choice and are generally referred to as Eye-Clean Diamonds.

This short video explains the GIA clarity scale and how GIA classifies diamonds with a clarity grade ranging from Flawless to I3 by using a 10X magnification loupe and a microscope to see and plot the diamond’s inclusions.



The cut of your diamond is probably the most important as it determines the level of sparkle, brilliance and fire and beauty in your gem.

When buying a diamond, you know how important the 4 Cs are in defining diamond quality. But well before buying comes dreaming. And when you envision the perfect diamond you’ll own one day, chances are the first thing that comes to mind is its shape.

A Diamond’s shape refers to the general silhouette of the stone and is not to be confused with cut or the stone’s facet arrangement.

Read on for GIA’s Diamond Shape buyers guide to some of the most frequently seen diamond shapes, and their defining attributes. Share with friends and family alike!

This short video explains the GIA cut scale and how GIA classifies round brilliant cut diamonds with a cut grade ranging from Excellent to Poor by factoring in a range of parameters including the diamond’s proportions, culet size, girdle thickness, polish and symmetry descriptions.



The term “carat” refers to a diamond’s weight, simply telling us how big it is. Therefore, this is the most price sensitive part of a diamond.

Diamond Relative Carat / Size Comparison

Carat is a measurement of weight, not size and so the overall diameter (mm) could differ slightly even though the carat weight is correct. Image is not to scale. Diamond pictures are shown for comparison purpose only. Actual size can vary depending on your screen resolution, monitor size, etc.

This short video explains carat weight and shows how diamonds are weighed in GIA’s lab on an extremely precise electronic scale.


The 4C’s (Color, Carat, Cut, Clarity) are your best and simplest guide to buying diamonds.
They are easy to understand and use. Kindly feel free to visit us to enquire and choose your piece of
diamond jewelry with complete confidence.

Learn More